ROCK installation on NUC

Hello. I am new to Roon. I have a new NUC model no NUC8i7INH which has Windows 10 installed, the NUC is not yet powered up for the 1st time.

I would like to add an SSD to rip my CDs to and load ROCK to make a Roon core.

Do I need to I uninstall Win10 before loading ROCK and if so any advice on how to do this so ROCK installs properly?

Thanks

Just prepare the image on the USB drive, and the installation process will format both disk, and ask which one is for the Roon database, and that’s it.

Thank you…sounds simple so will give it a go

The ROCK install will overwrite the chosen OS drive.

I like using external USB hard drives for ROCK storage instead of adding an internal drive. Cheaper. Easier to move around and load music.

Personally, I would get another hard drive to use for ROCK OS, that way I could go back to Win10 if I wanted.

Thanks for the info.
Do you know how I would get the NUC to boot from the USB rather than Win10 as it’s set up to do?

Thanks

In most cases, the internal drive is empty so the computer will default to USB. During Boot, I think if you press F10 it will bring up the boot menu and you can then select the device to boot from.

See:

Thank you. Will be making the attempt on Friday so will post an update

What size is the drive that came with the unit?

Theres 8Gb Ram and a 256Gb m.2 board I think, I will add a ssd to rip my cd collection onto which I think, from reading support info on the site, the Roon Rock installation will support

How many CDs are you talking about? While you CAN rip a CD via ROCK, I wouldn’t want my whole collection of CD’s ripped that way. You end up with a whole bunch of files with generic names (Track1.flac, Track2.flac) in folders with names like “CD-Ripped-2019-08-02–18-19-47”.