Roon 1.8 not starting up on ROCK

Roon Core Machine

Core:
Intel NUC (NUC7i5BNK (Intel Core i5, Slim Version)
Crucial 8GB Single DDR4
TCSUNBOW M.2 2242 120GB SSD
RoonOS 1.0 (build 227) stable
Roon 1.8 (Latest Version) (Updated to latest version after the reinstall)

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Ethernet directly connected to the Router
(No issues with Router as it is being used by many devices via ethernet).

Connected Audio Devices

Linn Klimax DS/3

Number of Tracks in Library

All through streaming (Tidal & Qobuz)

Description of Issue

I have been using ROCK for a couple of years and haven’t had major issues so far. Recently I moved to another place and when I plugged it in, I could not connect to it.

I reinstalled the OS and the codecs required, but I could not seem to start Roon Server Software (“Not Running”). When I rebooted the device it displays the following message:

“Roon Server could not be successfully restarted. Please try rebooting, or contact support.”

Cheers

When you say you “reinstalled the OS”, did you do this via the Web Administration page, or start from scratch and reinstalled ROCK from a USB Stick? If the former, then you don’t need to reinstall the codecs…

Can you try reinstalling the Roon Operating System using the Web Administration page once more to see if that helps?

Hi Geoff,

I did it from scratch via USB. I did what you suggested and it worked. However now I seem to have lost my previous Roon “profile” (all my music lists etc). How can I recover my own lists? Note that all my libraries are in tidal, Qobuz.

Thanks

Well, since you reinstalled from scratch, then you will have reset the ROCK/NUC to its factory defaults. Do you have a backup that you can restore to your “new” system?

No, I don’t. Does that mean I cannot restore it then, right?

Right.
/10 chars

OK Geoff,