Roon 2.x Upgrade - Failure to Initialize Audio Device Problems

Roon Core Machine

Roon Nucleus Plus

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Roon Core and Roon endpoint (a 2019 Mac Pro running Ventura 13.1) connected via cat 6 Ethernet and are connected on same Ubiquiti 8 port switch.

Connected Audio Devices

Mac Pro connected to Project Audio’s S2 Digital preamp via AudioQuest USB cable. S2 device is configured in Roon as remote (endpoint). S2 is configured as private zone, exclusive mode Yes

Number of Tracks in Library

15,601 tracks on internal SSD in Nucleus Plus

Description of Issue

I’ve been using this set up with Roon since 2020 - pretty stable. Since upgrading to 2.0 (currently running build 1193 on core and endpoint) I’m getting sluggish overall behaviour when launching MacOS or iOS, or iPad OS clients. More importantly, on the Mac Pro specifically since upgrading to 1193 a few days ago I’m getting failure to initialize errors. If I disable the S2 device and re-enable (or reboot), playback will start but if I leave the Mac idle for some time and then try to play music again with Roon client still open, I’ll get the same errors of failure to initialize audio device, etc. This is/was just a bit intermittent when I upgrade to earlier builds of 2.x but now it’s constant since upgrading to 1193.

Just to add a bit more info. I was just playing an album (streaming from Tidal) and tried to switch to a different album (Tidal or local) and I got the same error of failure to initialize. I waited about 60 sec and hit play again and this time it started playing. So the issue isn’t some kind of device timeout I’d guess since I was in the midst of listening to something when I got the issue trying to switch to something else.

Hey @Stuart_McFarlane,

I’m sorry to hear you’re running into issues after updating your core to 2.0.