Roon and classical box sets - an analysis

Hi,

first of all: i am not a native speaker so I hope you understand what i mean …

I’ve been using Roon for six months now and have transferred more than 6,600 CDs from iTunes to Roon, 90% of them classical music. Roon changed a lot of things and did not recognize many CDs during the identification process. This happened particularly with albums that belong to classic box sets which include many or very many CDs. A total of around 1,500 CDs were not recognized; in laborious manual work I have reduced that meanwhile to around 450.

I can describe the problem with the box sets with classical music: Roon very often identifies the correct box set, but fails to assign the tracks. Although data, such as track time, title and even the order of the tracks often correspond 1: 1 to the box set, Roon almost never manages to assign the album to these tracks. This is very annoying. And it means manually assigning the tracks by tapping the „up and down“ arrows - what that means with a set of 60 or even more CDs is pure horror. Then, for example, I have to slide 14 tracks individually up or down through 30 or 40 CDs, which takes a veeeery long time and is totally annoying.

The least helpful thing here would be if i was able to mark several tracks as a block + move them as a block from A to B. But of course it would be perfect, however, if the Roon algorithms were improved and found the assignment themselves within the box sets – as i said: the data for the comparison „album vs CD from box set“ is very often there.

Otherwise: Roon is great, looks great and is big fun - if you are a classic fanatic with many box sets and you are willing to invest time in manual post-processing.

best
matthias

Box sets are Roon’s Achilles heel