Roon and lightroom combo solution?

Hi community,
I’m new to roon and very interested in setting up a server at home. Since I anyway planned to get a small dorm factor pc for my photo editing with lightroom I thought it might be possible to combine it with roon. What do you think about this idea? Do you have recommendations for the hardware? Initially I planned to go with a Dan v4 case. Thank you

There’s no reason why this shouldn’t work, but you’ll need to consider the minimum specification for Roon plus Lightroom … you’re going to need lots of RAM. Also, both use OpenGL so I would test that both play well together before investing in hardware.

Do you intend to leave the PC on all the time? May be better to buy a NUC and use this exclusively for Roon.

Thanks. Yes it will be running 24/7 I’m not sure if that’s a good idea when using a Win 10 pc. But otherwise I would need two systems.

You can always try it and see how you go - spec for a good Lightroom system (which I’m sure will also be sufficient for Roon) and, if in time you don’t like it, you could add a NUC + ROCK for Roon. I use both but like the simplicity of ROCK, and I don’t use Lightroom more than weekly, so they sit on different machines.

Edit: I should probably also say that I started out with both on the same machine - they co-exist fine, though at that time I wasn’t doing anything too taxing with Roon - I guess it’s possible that if either app is thrashing the CPU then it could impact on the other - perhaps others with experience of this will chip in.

I have my roon core on a multi use machine, I often run virtual machines (use a lot of ram, little CPU), light room and playback to 1 endpoint, with little trouble. If lightroom is hammering the CPU playback can get interrupted occasionally, but not often, I figure this is OK as it mainly happens during photo imports. My machine is an old i7 + 16gb ram, in a fan less case, I would expect new machines to be better.