Roon and Photoshop

I’m sorry, but I’m not sure how to categorize this question. This is more of an observation and a curiosity if anyone else in Roonville has experienced what I’m experiencing.

I’m a portrait photographer who uses Photoshop on a regular basis as part of my workflow. I’ll spend hours retouching a collection of portraits and when doing so, I love to listen to music. I’ve noticed that when Roon is playing in the background is when I experience poor behavior with some Photoshop activities. I don’t want to go into the specifics here unless another Photoshop user wishes to engage with this topic. My workstation is a 27" iMac 3.6 Ghz 8-Core i9 with 40 GB of RAM. My Roon Server is located on a Mac Mini which I have set up strictly as a Roon machine. I use the Roon app on my iMac which connects to my small audiophile system using an AudioQuest DragonFly. The nondesirable solution would be to connect the audio system to the Mac Mini. I hesitate to do so because I also enjoy iMac audio going through the small audiophile system, such as YouTube, Bandcamp, educational videos, etc. I would love to hear the thoughts of others if you so desire. Cheers! Devin

I started reading your post and immediately thought that RAM would be the issue - both Photoshop and Roon are RAM intensive - but then got to the part where you mentioned you have 40GB in the iMac, so I suspect it’s probably not RAM related. That said, take a look at Activity Monitor next time the problem occurs as it might shed some light on what’s going on.

I also use Photoshop on the same Mac mini M1 (16GB RAM) I use to run my Roon core, so feel free to share some specifics as to what you’re doing in Photoshop when you experience the problem.

2 Likes