Roon Core Hardware / OS options and sound quality

Thank you both @Roony and @andybob. I am not an engineer and I have a hard time understanding the possible reason for the a SQ difference when its only IP packages transported through a network cable. But if experienced listeners hear a difference, I have respect for that. I’m only wonder if I could hear a difference - only I could answer that of course. Perhaps you could hear a reflective reasoning in my line of thinking. I am trying to chose a path :slight_smile:

Let’s put it in a different way: of all the things you could do to make your system sound better, changing the file server at the other end of Ethernet from your streamer is the least important.

1 Like

That was not the question.
My pc is 4 times more expensive then the the ST, so …what are we talking about. And everything is important when you want the best possible sound for your money.

Very good point. I have enough problems with the choice of USB cable between the microRendu and the new shining Hugo 2 I have pre-ordered. It has USB micro. Shall I buy a new USB A to USB micro, as Nordost Purble Flare for about 180 euro, or use my Supra with a micro adapter. Is it ok with a cheap adapter - Audioquest have one for about 9 euro. I guess an adapter might be a negative element in the electrical chain, but by how much? I haven’t god a clue and have no way of testing it for the moment.

SonicTransporter i7 is 1499 dollar. A 6000 dollar PC, that must really be a monster machine! I also think that the things that’s making your machine expensive might rather be negative for SQ than positive, i.e. monster graphic cards.