Roon Core on iMac

Hi Everyone.
I’m new to Roon and wanted to ask if there is a way of setting up Roon Core on my iMac to work even if the computer goes to sleep?
As soon as this happens I can’t find it on my iPhone until I wake the computer up.
Thanks in advance for any help given.

The server, which is on the Mac in your case, must always be on.

Thanks Ged for your reply. So is the Nucleus the best option when using Roon?

There’s a long answer to that short question but I’ll go with the short one.
It depends.

A nucleus is aimed at people who fall in to some or all of these categories…
Have the money
Want an off the shelf, just works solution
Want fanless

Basically any modern computer can run the roon server and if you read around the forums you will see people use
Mac, mini and I
Linux
Windows
NAS
There is a do it yourself version of the nucleus available using the roon ROCK operating system on an Intel small pc called a nuc.

Ask more questions about any of the above if you like.

There’s a lot to look into.
Does a Mac mini not have the same problem as the iMac in going to sleep and losing access to my phone/iPad?

That’s a different question. Can I keep my machine awake.

I don’t want to keep the computer awake all the time. I want to know if I can access the Roon Core at anytime, even when the computer is asleep?

Not if it is asleep. Any machine you use as a server has to be up and running if you want to use it.
That’s why people use relatively low power consumption machines like Mac mini or nuc.

1 Like

You can access Roon while it sleeps. Just check the « Wake for Network access» box in settings.

That is a confusing answer since a variety of options were being discussed; please specify what environment you are talking about. Certainly not Windows, ROCK, or the Nucleus. Mac OS?