Roon Core on Ubuntu stops accepting connections

Hi there,

Roon and Ubuntu newbie here. I installed Roon server 64 bit for Linux on my Ubuntu workstation. Controlling Roon core from 2 remotes (smartphone and tablet) to play on 1 Roon ready device. All worked just fine that evening, including discovery of small local library and large Qobuz favourites selection.

Next evening my remotes (smartphone and tablet) could not connect to the Core. Stop and start of roonserver on Ubuntu did the trick. Worked fine rest of the evening.

Next evening: same thing…

Is there any additional things I can check, why that restart is necessary. It’s annoying, during my test. Wondering whether to pay for Roon, event though the functionality looks great.

Thanks and kind regards,
Jan.

Hi @Jan_Stes and welcome to the forum. I’m not technical support, just another user, but I’ll try to offer some help while you’re waiting. The issue you have has the smell of a network problem, Roon/RAAT is pretty demanding in that respect. If you were to give a few more details about the devices and the network hardware and links it’ll help when support do arrive.

1 Like

Hi Jan,

I and some other users have been wrestling with random crashes and restarts of the Roon Server process on Ubuntu Desktop, which seems to be related with NetworkManager and the dhcp4 client calling to its server. One thing you can do to ascertain if you are experiencing similar issues is to look for SIGSEGV events in your syslog archives. You can do that by

grep SIGSEGV /var/log/syslog

and

grep SIGSEGV /var/log/syslog.1

For the compressed syslog archives (syslog.2.gz etc.) use zgrep instead of grep.

If you find SIGSEGV events related to Roon server processes I’d think we could be fairly sure you’re experiencing the same problem I and others (e.g. @Robem) have had.