Roon core options which gen / processor

Hi guys,

I’m relatively new to Roon and loving it so far. I have Qobuz and Tidal and am building my library.

Question is, I have my Lenovo (work) laptop as the core at the moment but want to move to an Intel NUC. I have 3 options but haven’t got a cluewhich one would be the best.

They are:

Intel NUC | I3 5e Generatie | 128SSD | 4GB | Windows 10 NUC5I3RYK

Intel NUC | I5 5e Generatie | 128SSD | 4GB | Windows 10 NUC5I5RYH

Intel NUC | I3 6e Generatie | 128SSD | 4GB | Windows 10 NUC6I3SYH

Different generations or different processors? Any tips would be great and why.
Thanks in advance.

Tim

I’d ho for the 6th gen as its newer. An i3 will be fine until you have 100k plus tracks.
Why just those 3?

Just in case here are the supported models

1 Like

Thanks ged, I have a colleague who reconditions computers and this is what he has available at the moment. Very decent prices between 130 and 200 euros.

1 Like

For me it’s a toss up between the i5RYH and i3SYH. However the advice to go newer is sound. I’d have him raise the memory to 8gb and install ROCK. You don’t need Windows unless you specifically want to multi task.

2 Likes

Thanks for your tips Henry. I don’t need to multi task but they come with windows already installed. Would it get in the way, should I remove it or would it be useful to keep for possible further use for other programs? I’m not sure whether I would multi task but maybe if I want multi media?

Cheers, Tim

If you have any doubts, leave Windows on it. But if you did then 8gb of memory would be a must for me.

1 Like

Thanks again Henry.
If I leave windows on then would I install ROCK or ROON Server. I’m reading loads of posts but getting a little confused now.
What is the best option? Should I just remove windows and instal ROCK? It will only be used for ROON.

Thanks.