Roon downsampling to roon Bridge

Hi all,

I am new to Roon and have playing with different configurations and I am facing an issue with my ideal one.
I am running Roon server on my Synology DS716+ NAS and everything seems responsive and working fine, but when streaming to a my endpoint (Roon Bridge on a pi3) the music are being down-sampled. I can see that Roon only identifies the endpoint as bit perfect up to 48khz and everything higher is in RED. Can also see that the problem is within Roon as it indicates that is down-sampling the music

Why is this ? What is creating this limitation ?
Pi is on WIfi and the output is the HDMI to my receiver.

Thanks,
Ricardo

That’s why Roon is downsampling … the limitation is the receiver is returning 48k as it’s hihest resolution.

Roon queries the endpoint and will only play the resolutions that the endpoint tells Roon it can handle. In your case, when Roon is testing your endpoint, it is coming back with 48 khz being the highest possible resolution and so it is down-sampling the music to match what the endpoint is telling Roon it can handle.

The current Pi drivers for HDMI/3,5mm audio out only support up to 48kHz. They’re also notoriously bad quality wise. Updated drivers are in development, but still in experimental stage. DietPi offers them as a choice. The so seem to improve the sound, bit bitrate is still limited to 48kHz. (More info: http://dietpi.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=450#p1965).

If your receiver supports SPDIF (optical or coaxial), you may be better served by adding a Digi+ HAT by HifiBerry or IQAudio to your Pi, as it will support highres and greatly improve AQ.

Thanks for the replies.

After doing some digging I can see that the PI is replying back with 16bit and 48khz as the limit via HDMI.
Already updated the kernel to the latest version but no luck.

I understand this is not a Roon software issue but does anyone knows how to overcome this problem ?