Roon DSP / EQ for Focal Utopia

Can anybody help me replicate these settings on Roon DSP engine?

Thanks!

Maybe close enough?

2 Likes

Wow! Lots of changes! I thought this would be just one frequency tweak and done…

Another trial, I’m no expert in EQ :grinning:

@thyname: This is easily done if you use the ‘Low shelf’ filter. Just click on the Peak/Dip link to see the options.

2 Likes

@KMan like this;

1 Like

Bingo :relaxed:

Just that one band?

Yes. If you look at Tyll’s settings you will notice I have plugged the same values in Roon. Just the one band (Low shelf, G:3.87dB, F: 72.8kHz, Q:0.10) will suffice if your objective is to replicate Tyll’s settings.

2 Likes

I run with this on my Focals - it’s perfect!

Which one? The one that @KMan posted above?

The EQ I use for my pair is a bit more involved, thought I will share it if you guys want to give it a go. I understand EQ is a matter of personal preference, to me I had to bring the presence region down by a few dB and remove the upper bass emphasis and correct for slightly forward upper midrange.

The good thing is even though I" have shared the DMG presets, you can just plug these values directly in Roon!

4 Likes

Yes, that’s the one. Depending on your amp, fine tune to taste.

1 Like

Very interesting article on InnerFidelity today from Bob Katz re LCD4s and Focal Utopias. Trying to understand why Bob preferred the LCD4s and Tyll the Focals.

They measured them - turns out there were significant differences in measured performance between samples - ie two pairs of Focals were very different. LCDS slightly better but still not good.

There were also differences between each channel on a given headset - again LCDs better than Focals, but neither acceptable for something at this price level.

Might be worth checking out - if the pair being EQ’d here are same as the ones Bob had then your using the wrong starting point it would appear.

OP here.