Roon Endpoint device

I am completely new to Roon. Been using Audirvana for long time.

Is there an non Airplay endpoint device that simply outputs a digital stream that I can pass to my Chord DAC?

You have quite some choice. Depends on your budget. From DIY solutions to commercial products everything is available.

• Bluesound
  • Auralic
  • Lumin
  • Project

Just as a few examples. Find a more here:

Or this, if you don’t mind spending about $77 or whatever the price is now…

1 Like

Hi Peter Thanks for response.

Probably the DIY solutions are best for my needs as I want a truly bare bones device - no pretty casing and bells and whistles.

Literally - connect it to power and wifi and a DAC and have it recognised by Roon.

I have tried Bluesound but in an earlier ‘life’ connected to Qobuz and did not like its interface. It didn’t deal well with classical streaming interface requirements.

At moment i have a Yamaha WXC 50 which has a digital output but it is restricted to Airplay resolution. If I use this device as a streamer it cannot handle gaples!!!

Great info! thanks

I’ve assembled three of these, one with a screen. It’s a piece of cake and works very well. I used the RPi4 and use one connected to my network using ethernet and another connected by WIFI. I use a Meridian Prime Headphone Amplifier with the ethernet one and a Dragonfly Cobalt with the WIFI one.

If you don’t need a HAT and just want USB out, a FLIRC case works well with the RPi4 as a totally silent heat sink. Everything you need is available on Amazon.

1 Like

Great, Jim!
Let me digest all of this - it looks very interesting from my perspective of music loving electronics software type of old guy.
At my age everything moves very slowly but that adds depth to the view ;o)

I’m 73. It takes about 5 or 10 minutes to download the software and flash the micro SD card and another 5 minutes to slap the RPi4 into the FLIRC case and put in 4 screws.

1 Like