Roon Extension: Deep Harmony - rich feature set for Logitech Harmony

This is now updated to V2.

Please see posts at

and

[Obsolete]

Hi all, this is the first (beta) of an extension I have been working on for a while for Logitech Harmony.

It is currently provided as docker image for Linux that has been tested on a QNAP TS-251+ NAS under container station.

Current main Features:

• Volume step up/down from within Roon controller UI
  • Select/standby activity from within Roon controller UI
  • Transport control of Roon from your Harmony Remote control:
    • Play
    • Pause
    • Stop
    • Skip forward
    • Skip backward
    • Previous
    • Next
    • Shuffle toggle
    • Loop mode cycle
    • Auto-Radio toggle

I would welcome any comments and feedback from anyone willing to give it a go.

While I am a long time commercial developer, I am however new to node, docker, home automation devices etc, but I have been using this in earlier forms for a couple of weeks without notable issue.

To locate from within container station on a QNAP NAS: search for ‘Khazul’. You should find khazul/roon-extension-deep-harmony. Make sure that when creating the container, you go into advanced settings, networking and select host or bridge mode otherwise neither Roon nor Harmony will be able to discover it.

Readme with install and setup guidance can be found at
https://store.docker.com/community/images/khazul/roon-extension-deep-harmony

Enjoy :slight_smile:

Note: This is not for Docker for Windows or Docker for Mac as Linux docker images can not discover Harmony and Roon due to running in a virtual machine on a virtual network on these platforms.

It is built and tested on a QNAP 251+ and should work on x86 based 64 bit Linux-like OS with docker (including Synology NAS, intel NUCs with Linux etc). A 32bit ARM image for R-PI docker will soon be available.

Windows and OSX support is being investigated, but most likely this will not be via docker.

11 Likes

Hey Adam,