Roon has lost lost control of the audio device - Ayre QX 5-Twenty DAC

After updating Roon, I now get the message “Roon has lost control of the audio device” when I try to play music on my laptop. I have been using Roon with the Roon Nucleus for about 9 months. This problem occurred once before but I was able to resolve it by simply rebooting the Nucleus. Except for that one time, the system has worked perfectly until today. Today, however, I have tried rebooting the Nucleus, the router and the entire system but I am still getting the message. Roon does see the Ayre QX 5-Twenty and shows in Settings that it is enabled and directly connected to the Nucleus. The Ayre icon shows in the music play list as the selected “zone,” altho the icon says Ayre QX-8 instead of Ayre AX 5-Twenty (which has never been an issue).

System setup:
Router to Roon Nucleus
Nucleus to Ayre QX 5-Twenty DAC
Ayre 5-Twenty to Ayre AX-7e intergrated amp
Ayre AX-7e to speakers

Roon is running Tidal. All equipment is hard wired in with AudioQuest cables. The only Wifi signal is from the router to my laptop.

Thank you.
Steve P

Hello @Steve_Piwnica,

Apologies for the delay! Our team’s queue is longer than typical at the moment, but we’re working to get back to everyone as quickly as we can.

Are you still seeing this issue on the latest build of Roon? Do other zones except for the Ayre work as expected, for example, are you able to output to the System Ouptut zone (internal speakers) on your laptop properly?

Hi Noris, no problem on any delay. Yes, still seeing the issue on the latest build. The “About” page shows that both my Mac laptop and the Nucleus have the latest version (Roon version 1.8 (build 790) stable). I just reloaded the app on my iPhone so the latest version there too. I am not totally certain on this, but I’m pretty sure this problem showed up after installing 1.8. Roon has worked perfectly for 9 months previous to installing 1.8.