Roon ignoring my custom artist name tags

I am very new to Roon. Its a brilliant system. I will be taking out a subscription when my trial ends.
The only issue i have so far is with artist name tags.
For sake of convenience i create custom tags for artists that can have multiple band names etc.
For example for Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young I tag all artist names as Crosby, Stills, Nash. This keeps all albums in one place.
Unfortunately, Roon is still showing deja vu as Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young even though I have tagged as Crosby, Stills, Nash.
This is happening with other artists too.
I have changed roon settings to use the “prefer file” rather than Roon but still its ignoring.
How do I resolve this so roon organises the library according to my artist tags rather than its own tags.
Thanks

I’ve moved your post from the Support category into the Roon Software Discussion category of the forum, since it’s more of a “how best to use Roon” question than a request to solve a technical issue with a Roon setup.

I expect that members of the Community will chime in with suggestions and advice. I will note, however, that Roon is very opinionated on how it does things, so you may be fighting it for the sake of your convenience.

Thanks. I am very experienced in dealing with such people because of my work.
Hopefully my issue can get resolved in a civilized and polite manner

It wasn’t about the forum users but the developers having strong opinions an how things should be done and the software implementation obviously reflects that, so some things are just not possible and it is better to find other ways to achieve something similar, which align with the software design.

I’m not quite sure what your goal is here. In which views do you want to “keep all albums in one place”?