Roon in a remote Server / Android HI-RES Streaming / iBasso Streaming Hiccups

Hi everyone,
I’m a long time user of Logitech Media Server and I wanted to try Roon. So I bought the monthly subscription just to play around with the software before buying the lifetime subscription.

Until now I have a love/hate relationship with Roon. I am audiophile, so I love all the UI the DSP and the metadata stuff, but I’m also a software developer, so I hate how certain functionalities are so badly written.

The problems:

1. Setting up Roon server in a remote server.
  2. Audio hiccups during playing with mobile app. And limited sample rate on mobile app.

Problem 1

I read a lot of solution about this problem in the Thinkering forum session. Long story short: I installed in my local server which is in my local LAN.

During the debugging session I, with another friend (software engineer), have analyzed with tcpdump the network behaviour of Roon. He literally told me “the network stack of this software is just BS”, and I agreed.
You simply cannot rely totally on broadcast packets to reach the clients. It’s just a bad practice. Because, not only you’ll have a really bad time using a VPN with RoonServer on another PC outside your lan. But It can cause problem also in you own lan if you have more subnet and in general with a more complex network setup.
Of course, Logitech Media server doesn’t suffer of this problem.
Using only broadcast packets, using a metaphor is like finding a 40 year old parachute backpack in your garage from your grandparent and you decide to jump from an helicopter. The parachute may open, on maybe not. Network discovery is a good tool to simplify connections, but IT MUST NOT BE the only one.

Problem 2

Testing hardware for Roon:

• Server: Xeon 28 core, 64gb ddr4 quad channel RAM, wired gigabit link

• Client: iBasso DX160 DAP, connected with wi-fi, average wifi speed 50Mbit/s, stable.