Roon is overpriced & unstable for me

Roon is overpriced, unstable rubbish. Save your money and find an alternative. I’m running through a 10K system and ROCK works when it feels like it, continual restarts. I’m a network engineer by trade so before you criticise I know what I’m doing. If ur paying this kind of money I expect stability and Roon does not provide

2 Likes

Something is wrong, whether you are a network engineer or not. My ROCK crashed literally never in 3 years and was running 24/7, same for my remotes on Android and iOS, and my Mac remote crashed twice in one year (before that I used the Windows remote on Linux, so that doesn’t count)

5 Likes

Roon has worked perfectly for me for 4 years. I run Roon servers on Roon Nucleus, Apple Mac Mini (late 2014), and Dell XPS 15 laptop running Windows 11. Maybe it’s because I am not a network engineer.

As far as price, Roon is not cheap, but I purchased three lifetime subscriptions for three different reasons with no regrets, and I am relatively frugal.

PS: Roon works well on a $1K system, $10K system, or $100K system if the network is adequate and everything is set up correctly.

It’s really not fair to bash Roon if you’ve never once asked for help in almost four years.

5 Likes

Ask @support for help, you can sort it out

1 Like

I am a Brain Surgeon, part time Physicist and a Network Engineer to boot. I am also studying to be an Elephant Trainer and I am a Horse Whisperer.

Whoops, sorry, this is the internet and I can say anything I like just to get a reaction (and be anything I like from behind my screen).

Roon has its fair share of frustrating issues but I have two ROCK Cores (one is a MOCK) and they do not, or as yet, have not suffered from the issues you describe. But I can see why Roon could make you angry, I have felt the same way at times and it usually turned out to be network related issues.

Maybe ask for some help from fellow users.

11 Likes

I’m a bit disappointed by this…