Roon keeps reporting “alarm” that system backups fail nightly. 11/9 was last successful back-up: UPDATE!

Lifetime Roon.

Quobuz

McIntosh 7200 DAC

Nucleus to DAC via USB.

Connection from Router to Nucleus via wire

Using roon via IPad Mini (MK7M3LLA) with Roon updated recently - whenever I’m told to update

In “scheduled backups” it says: “Nucleus > SanDisk Cruiser Glide 3.0 > folder icon Roon Backups” (Every 15 days)

Alert Message tells me: “Backup failed 1:00.00/ Backup directory not available”

When I’ve tried to force a backup it failed. Or asks me for a folder and offers Dropbox (???)

I get music with no problem! The library is there and still updates if I add or delete music. I love the new updated/upgraded Roon! It really adds substantially to the music experience.

Sometimes I need to manually reinstall the Roon - lately. But not the past few days.

I am pretty IT illiterate! I’m a retired clinical psychologist

The questions here:

1. Is the problem that my current iPad mini is getting too old?

2. Is Roon asking also to back-up to something external like a thumb drive?

3. Am I going senile? (/s)

I am clueless and not even sure if it’s my problem or a software glitch. If I do need a new iPad to control this …. Must I set up everything again? Or does the nucleus remember everything for me if I get a new iPad?

I hope I’ve provided sufficient info to solve this. Something must have changed - if before backups happened with no problem. Till Nov 9th.

This is not urgent as I get music! So I am happy :blush:. But Roon is unhappy :slightly_frowning_face: apparently.

Update posted below as a comment to this

The most likely explanation is that your SanDisk USB stick is either full or has failed.

The issue is nothing whatsoever to do with your iPad and everything to do with the fact that you have set your Roon to backup to this USB stick.

Try plugging the stick into a PC or Mac and use File Explorer or Mac Finder to see how full the stick is.

1 Like