Roon loses control of HQplayer

Chord Dave directly connected to PC. Roon loses control of HQPlayer intermittently. I have Roon defaulted to WASAPI as previously recommended. Sorry I am a newbie but not sure what that would achieve if using ANSIO driver through HQPlayer? I have re-installed the ANSIO driver. My chord Dave is default player and has exclusive control option ticked. I have paid for the full version of HQplayer and it is registered. Should I change to WASAPI driver in HQplayer? Any suggestions gratefully received. Thank you.

Whilst waiting for Roon’s support team, let me tag @jussi_laako he may be able to assist with the HQP settings.

It is recommended to not set the DAC as default output on Windows (or macOS for that matter).

You should use ASIO driver in HQPlayer. And also remember to make sure that neither WASAPI nor ASIO driver is enabled as output zone in Roon. Otherwise Roon and HQPlayer will conflict.

Do you have HQPlayer license key successfully installed? Does HQPlayer title bar display your name?

Yes HQPlayer does have my name at top and license keep was successfully installed. I did have DAC as default so will correct that and see what happens. Thank you.

I now have my DAC as default and all zones disabled. It still cuts out after a series of interference clicks like something is trying to stop it working. I run other apps such as google, microsoft Edge and Citrix whilst listening to music so not sure if that has anything to do with it. I have my dac set up in the Sound Control Panel set to 2 channel 32bit 96000khz (studio quality) and both of the ‘exclusive mode’ boxes ticked. My default sound device is now my arctic headphones. I really can’t see anything that would be causing a problem. In the event box I have ‘Device USB\VID_245F&PID_0815\413-001 requires further installation’. Could this be the problem? I have re-installed the driver but I still see this error message. Would re-loading Roon or HQplayer make a difference?