Roon not connecting after MS EDGE update

Hello.
I have been using Roon with Tidal in my system for a few years now without issue on the exact same hardware. A few days ago my HP all in one computer did an update which included a Microsoft EDGE update and now when I attempt to launch Roon from my desktop, or from my Android, it gets hung up and indefinitely attempts to connect but never does. I have a HP all-in-one computer as the core with Intel Core i7-6700 CPU 2.8GHz, 64-bit OS with Windows 10. It is connected via ethernet to my Nighthawk 7000 NETGEAR router which is connected to a broadband cable modem. My audio gear is a PSAudio DSD DAC connected via Ethernet. Any help would be appreciated as I’m really missing my Roon capability and it’s difficult to troubleshoot when the application will not even open. Thanks Much.

Check that the firewall is not causing issues. That isn’t uncommon after an update.

OK. Thanks Henry… What specifically should I check on the firewall? I’ve been using Kaspersky Internet Security for years and I don’t think it did any update…

I did try disabling the firewall in Kaspersky as well as completely disabling protection of Kaspersky overall, and neither had an impact.

I think Henry means check MS Firewall which may have also been turned on even though you are using Kaspersky.

Was this a Windows Update or some Update from HP? Is there a reason you mention Edge?

From what I can tell the MS firewall (Windows Security/Windows Defender) firewall is turned off because Kaspersky is in place. It was a “system update”, but I mentioned MS Edge only because this was the “noticeable” update that was obvious other than Roon not working after the update.

You can try turning Kaspersky off to test if that is the issue or not. You could roll back the update as well. I’ve had several Window 10 updates over the years be wonky. I roll them back, wait a month or two and then re-do them.