Roon not decoding MQA file for McIntosh C52

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

MacBook Pro 15", Roon Version 1.6 (build 416)

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

Wired internet through USB-C, Motorola modem supplied by Comcast

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

Using USB connection (through USB-C on MBP) to McIntosh C52, wired internet through USB-C

Description Of Issue

I selected C52 in preferences, audio, device set-up, and Roon recognized my McIntosh C52. I have a “master” subscription to Tidal. Unfortunately, Roon is playing all the master files at 44.1kHz instead of MQA 48 or 96 or 192. The system plays my non-Tidal, high-res AIFF tracks at full resolution (e.g., up to 192kHz). And the tracks show up appropriately when played through Tidal, but I can’t get Roon to recognize and play the tracks at full MQA-decoded resolution. I’ve attached a screen shot of a master Tidal file in Roon, together with the signal path.

Would appreciate any help or guidance. Thank you.

Set the MQA setting for your DAC in roon to none, so Roon does the unfold.

What does your device setup for the C52 look like Graham? If you don’t know how to get there go to settings/audio and click on the gears icon next to the Zone for the C52. It’s likely that is not setup correctly for the C52.

Thanks for responding. In “Device Setup,” for MQA Capabilities, it is set to “No MQA Support,” which is selected when I chose McIntosh C52 as my device.

Can you take a screen shot of device setup and make sure advance settings is open?

Thanks. In the “Device Setup” menu, I first selected McIntosh, then selected C52, which Roon recognized.

I’ve attached a screen shot of my Device Setup menu.

scroll down in Device Setup, open up Advanced and take another screen shot