ROON not running on ASUSTOR 3102T

Hello, I have been running ROON from my Laptop for a few years, recently I have decided to buy a NAS so that I can run ROON without having to use my laptop as a Core server and for storage.

I have gone for ASUSTOR 3102T, installed ROON from APP CENTRAL. However, I am not able to run ROON from the NAS. I have followed the following steps:

1. Installed ROON from ASUSTOR APP CENTRAL
  2. Created a shared folder from Access Control
  3. From the NAS home screen, clicked on ROON icon, then Configure, and selected the shared folder I created.
  4. Then I opened the ROON app which is installed on my laptop, gone into Setting / Storage and added the Shared Folder.
  5. When then I go to Configure and I click on Configure ROON Core, ROON tries to find the CORE, however nothing happens here. I tried to logout and log back in from the NAS, but with no luck.

Any idea how to solve this and get ROON to work on my ASUSTOR NAS?

Hi @Hani_Arwani and welcome to the forum.

There is a migration guide available at help.roonlabs.com:

Please don’t do that. Watched folders are for your music files. The Roon DB or backups should not be in one of Roon’s watched folders.
You should go to Settings|General and disconnect from your current core instead so you are able to select the new one that is running on the NAS. Follow the migration guide, load a backup of your current core and don’t forget to correct the configuration regarding the watched folders.

This is futile unless you have a Core running Roon OS (Nucleus, ROCK) as this is meant to configure options on/for Roon OS specifically.

PS: Keep a copy of the backup from your current Core on the laptop - you might want to revert to it later as your NAS is way below the recommended hardware specification. Running your Roon Core on the NAS may be unsatisfying. Read also: