Roon on Intel NUC i7-10710U Install in Windows or clean installation of Roon itself?

Hi
Im new to NUC-ROCK setup for Roon.
Im interested what is best Roon to install on is there any differences .
Most important music quality with use of full DSP advantage of Roon.
This nuc will be only music dedicated .I can format disk and instal roon without windows if thats better.
Nuc will be usb connected to DAC with 512 DSD capability or 736 kHz.
Mostly playing from Tidal but also not a huge but leys sau 1TB library SSD,
I have no knowledge of Linux but will learn if that help audio quality.
Any comments welcome.
Thx

The difference between windows and Nuc/Rock is a matter of convenience. With Rock you don’t have to know Linux, the Roon software does it for you and all updates are delivered by Roon. With Windows you will have to deal with their update process.

I would not expect any SQ differences.

1 Like

Hi Mike,
Linux sounds better with all updates on auto.
Cant wait to start using Roon this way.
Hope will be ok ask more questions if any difficulties occur.
Should be ok as good guidance is on Roon pages.
Thx

Roon themselves have never stated that SQ is a benefit from any of the OS’s which are running RoonServer. I know others who prefer running the server on MacOS, I prefer Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC.

I’d say go with Windows, that way you can use the thunderbolt port and Wifi if you choose to, and more importantly load the Windows ASIO drivers to get native DSD on your DAC and DSD 512.

If you still want to try Linux, the first thing I would do is verify with the DAC manufacturer that it CAN do native DSD with Linux. Otherwise, you will be stuck using DoP with a DSD256 limit.

1 Like

Hi All,
Thanks ffor help and comments.
Set up my ROON as ROCK today.
I have 2TB on NUC can i add new folder for music files after all set up.