Roon on multiple computers out of the house

I am a Roon neophyte and am struggling to understand how best to use the software. Most of my owned music is in the cloud on Google Play Music. From what I gather, Roon can’t interface with that, so alas I am out of luck. No matter for most cases, as I have a Tidal subscription that satisfies 95% of my needs. For the most part, then, I am using Roon as a window to Tidal. I like the history and I like the interface. Not great reasons, and I’m starting to doubt if it’s really worth the difference, but for now here I am.

I have two laptops that I use outside of the house. When setting up Roon, I have to decide if the computer is going to be the Core or a remote. The first computer I installed Roon on is the Core. When I try to add the second one, it won’t let me create a second core, and if I select remote, it stalls indefinitely if the other laptop isn’t on.

All I really want is to use Roon as a portal to Tidal on both computers, including if I’m out of the house with only one of them. Is this possible? Do both have to be Cores? The software suggests that I buy a second license to listen to Tidal via Roon on two computers. This seems preposterous given the high price of the software.