Roon Core Machine

Intel NUC i7 16GB ram

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Unifi dream machine

Connected Audio Devices

Devilaet 250 pro expert

Number of Tracks in Library

Description of Issue

I have set up a NUC with windows 10 as core and I am experiencing dropout while playing on the devialet. This is with tracks that are on the hard drive, not streaming, I haven’t tried with streaming yet. The track keeps playing but the sound is gone for few seconds. I have been using the same exact setup with my iMac for the past 3-4 years without any issues and the network has not changed. As I read in the past that there are issues with the Devialet and giga ethernet I tried to insert a 10/100 switch and things got better but still there are dropouts. With the core on iMac using giga ethernet things were working fine. I have saved the logs but reproducing the issue is pretty easy, I just need to swap to giga ethernet and play a track.
I tried playing to another source like my iMac and it plays fine without dropouts. Just checked and it is also working fine on raspberryPi with IQ audioDAC pro using ropiee
Thanks

What bitrates are you playing…anything in the chain on wifi? Any DSP processing?

The Devialet gigabit problem was reportedly fixed in the last firmware, did you update? Depending on your router, it’s often possible to set port rate.

HI Mike,

yes I am running the last firmware available on Devialet website 13.2.0 Version2.2.6
As I said I also tried to add a switch that is only 10/100 before the Devialet but it still has the problem. The problem manifest itself as a 3-5 seconds of silence while the track progress and then the sound come back. I don’t exclude it could be something else. Like a wrong configuration on the NUC, It has been quite some time from when I had to dabble in Windows so I don’t exclude user error hence the support request.

Thanks for the help