Roon Remotes' intermittent struggles with connectivity

@Support

I am very new to Roon – just got set up a few days before 1.3. The Roon system is great, but now that I have been using it for a while, I am noticing a lot of intermittent spottiness with the remotes.

I use an iPhone 7 and a 3 month old iPad Pro as remotes for operating Roon from the other end of my house. I have both devices set to “go to sleep” after a few minutes, which is probably the cause of why signals to/from Roon are lost to begin with.

I frequently (but not consistently) am unable to get the remotes to access the Roon system. It always seems to be trying to connect (I see the Roon icon “fluttering”) but it switches over to a “Lost Connection” message. Sometimes it connects after a couple of minutes.

I have shut off the app (the Roon Remote) and turned it back on and, about half the time, it connects right away. I have done this with both of the remotes (iPhone and iPad Pro).

I should also add that I have the “accept connections from remotes” turned on and have kept up with all of the updates.

Any suggestions?

I also want to add that the wifi signal is excellent. I am easily able to access the internet from the iPhone and iPad from where I am attempting to use the remotes. I have also had this problem occur when less than 5 feet away from the router and NAS (where the Roon Core is).

I don’t let my App sleep. If I close the cover the screen shuts down. iPad Pro.

1 Like

Hi @John_Roberts ----- Thank you for the feedback and my apologies for the slow response here. To help me evaluate this issue, I would like to gather the following information from you:

1. A brief but accurate description of your current setup as seen here.