Roon rescan misses some library changes

This could be treated as a roon software or feature discussion. Because of the errors it caused me, I preferred to list it in support.

This post is related to 2 recent posts,

Those posts are focused on specific problems. I thought the topic deserved a more comprehensive treatment.

Much of this is surmise. I’m new to roon and its a closed system. I’m confident enough in this analysis and the tests I have run to present this, but reader beware. Having some sort of “theory of operation” in the knowledge base would be illuminating.

For my purposes, I’m going to treat roon as having 3 scan types. (this may be incomplete, oversimplified, or incorrect. I’ll stop with the caveats, they apply to the whole post.) The 3 types are the initial scan, the rescan that users can force or schedule, and the on-demand individual album rescan.