Roon server Linux with massive library 1M+ tracks

I’m new to Roon but wanting to start playing with it and take advantage of my Roon ready DAC.

My digital library is massive. It’s built from over 20 years of music collection.

Total tracks is over 1 million. Has anyone dealt with a library this size with Roon? The only library software that has been able to handle it is Jriver and, surprisingly, Plex.

I’m concerned the Nucleus can’t handle it and am looking at building a Linux box to run the server on.

I’ll probably run other services, like Plex.

I’m looking at an i9 as it has the fastest single core speed out there and probably 32gb mem, nvme for the base system and swap, although hopefully I want get swapped out at 32gb.

Anybody out there run a library this large? Would the Nucleus handle this?

Thanks!1

Hey, Brennan. Welcome to the forum.

I’m not sure how much the single-core performance will affect the ability to handle a giant library. It’s mainly useful if you use a lot of DSP on your music. Analysis uses multiple cores. I think the main thing you’d want to do is to max out your RAM, as Roon apparently will just crash if it runs out of RAM (not that that’s ever happened to me, but I have only about 20K tracks). I’d consider 64 gig or even 128.

I fooled around with the specs for a custom built server, and some kind folks added some comments that were useful:

To be precise, that’s with Roon OS, but the OP probably wants to run another OS

1 Like

Yes, he does explicitly mention Linux. Of course, RoonOS is Linux too, but he can just run normal Linux with swap enabled to avoid the RAM problem.

However, I think the max-out RAM recommendation still holds, if only for database access with a million tracks.

Absolutely, as explicitly mentioned in the specs (as I’m sure you are aware):

Largest Libraries