Roon will not see microRendu any more connected to Schiit Gungnir

Hey gents,

Got a problem here. I’ve been using my Gungnir for the last 6 months successfully connected to a Sonore microRendu USB streamer. It sounded fantastic.

Everthing was working fine until this last weekend, when I reconfigured my setup a little by moving the Mac Mini running Roon into another room. I unplugged all the cables, powered down the Rendu, and reconnected everything, including re-powering up the Rendu.

For some reason, now the Rendu absolutely will not see the Gungnir any more within Roon. Interestingly, I can connect my Schiit Loki (remember him, the God of DSD?) and Roon immediately sees Loki.

Everything sounds fine and Loki sounds as amazing as ever. I can also connect other PCM USB DACs e.g. the Light Harmonic Geek Out, Audioquest Dragonfly, Schiit Fulla, and Roon immediately sees all three of them, too.

It’s not a USB cable thing because I’ve tried three different USB cables and get the same result with all three.

But Gungnir is a complete no-go, and I don’t know why. Any idea what is going on? Gungnir worked fine until this weekend.

Any idea? I really want to have my Gungnir working again.

Some more information: the problem may be with the USB port or USB controller chip on the Gungnir. When I plug my Geek Out, Schiit Fulla, or Dragonfly directly into the USB port on my regular or work MacBook Pros (MBPs), those devices all show up in the Sound/Output control panel and in Audio MiDi Setup utlltilty app, but the Gungnir does not show up in any of these control panels/apps in either of my MBPs. So I am thinking the Gungnir has a failed USB port, port connector or controller.

Or it could be that the new setup has resulted in a change to the network topology and now Roon and the mR are on two different sub nets.

Sounds like an issue for Schiit tech support.