Ropiee does not connect with NEST Wifi

I have been using Roon on Raspberry pi for several years. Have 4 pi renderers, 3 of which currrently have Ropiee and one DietPi.

This week I started using a Google NEST WIFI mesh. The mesh consists of 1 main unit and 2 extender points.

My Ropiee units connect via WIFI to the main NEST but do not connect to the extender units although when connected with ethernet to setup they show the wifi in the scan. Contrary to that, the unit with DietPi connects to the extender units fine.

What can I do to fix this?

A true MESH network doesn’t have extenders as such. The range extenders form an invisible part of the WLAN and you have a single SSID which shuttles data around the various extenders via the best route automatically.

If you are seeing more than one SSID then you have not got the mesh working properly.

Thanks for your response.

I understand both that mesh does not use “extenders” as non mesh wifi, and that all access points show up as only one wifi to the user computer. Used the term extender to identify the accesories in the explination.
To the Ropiee units the mesh wifi indeed shows as only one ssid signal. However, the Nest wifi app for administration identifies to which of the wifi radio units a client is connected to. That is how I know that the Ropiees can connect to the main Nest mesh unit when it is the nearest one, and sees the secondaries when scanning, but do not connect to the secondaries when they are the nearest ones to the client Ropiee unit.

With mesh it isn’t a case of which access point is closest but which gives the quickest response.

If the main access point gives adequate performance it will not hand off to one of the other secondary access points because that will be a (marginally) slower route because there are more steps in the chain.