Ropieee .bin file

Hello.

So, I am new to the whole RoPieee scene. Have been using Roon for some time over a Pi/Hifiberry digi+ endpoint. Newly upgraded to an Allo Digione Signature.

When downloading the latest update of RoPieee, I’m left with a binary file. Shoulden’t this be an image file?

When i write this bin file to SD card and boot up the Pi, i seems to do something but it never comes up in the Roon program.

Thankful for any help.

@spockfish Harry maybe something is amiss in your downloads location.

@Stig_Solheim did you burn the bin file using etcher? You can’t just copy it to an SD card…it doesn’t work that way.

Did you use the download link on the ropieee.org pages? Edit seems to be a bin file there currently even the zip file.

I used Etcher to burn the file onto the SD card.

Downloaded the file for the link in the software section of Ropieee.org. Tried both the unpacked file and the XZ packed file as described. Both are .bin files and none of them seem to work…

I left the Pi/Allo booting for several hours last night, and still no luck. The green light seem to flash rapidly in the beginning, then more slowly after a while. Can not find it through the web browser/ip adresse either.

You do need to have it Ethernet connected to your network during the install. Also use a proper power supply 2.5A @ 5V. If you connect a tv/monitor to the Hdmi you should see the installation proceeding

It was ordered and delivered this way from Allo. So I think both are an option?

But I don’t think ropieee works with Allo digi one…maybe Harry will chime in on that.

Can you try the Allo dietpi image?

Ethernet was connected the intire time, also connected a screen via Hdmi and it shows activity. The screen turns off after some time

The allo digione and digione signature is listet, so I guess it should support them?

Another thing is try a different SD card. What size are you using? I’ve found 8/16GB to be the best. Sandisk normally reliable.