RoPieee MicroSD cards keep corrupting?

Hello - I’ve been using this setup with Roon for about 14 months. After about 6 months of perfect use, I’ve had RoPieee die 3 times within the past 6 months, all 3 times rendering the microSD unusable - each time its write protected and I cannot get it unlocked any way possible - for the price of an microSD card its not worth spending hours on it, but I did try most of the ways I found via google the first time it happened and was unsuccessful.

I do understand the microSD cards themselves can randomly corrupt, but 3 different cards in 6 months makes me wonder I am also wondering if this issue has ever been seen and if I am doing something wrong, or if the Roon updates could be effecting it. My setup over the 14 months has not changed at all. I also do never really log into Ropieee itself to update it or change setting, etc.

I know these are not great details, but figured I would ask, as searching did not get me anywhere.

TIA.

What brand are you using?

Two PNY’s, one SanDisk.

1 Like

I use a long lifetime SD card in another Pi where the SD card is regularly written to. Previously I used a regular card which died. The current one has been in use for a couple of years now with no issue.

However Ropieee doesn’t write to the card in normal operation - so it might not help.

If you want to try a longer life card take a look at Samsung Pro Endurance or Sandisk Extreme Pro.

FWIW I run 7 Ropieees they mostly have Sandisk ultra cards - and have been variously been running for a year with no issues.

Disruptions in the power are very rare here, but when there is one, the SD card in one of my two Ropieee appliances usually goes bad. It is powered by Ciunas Audio supercap PSU, while the other, whose SD card usually survives, is powered by Allo Shanti PSU. I use Toshiba 64GB SD cards (M302R).

It may be an overkill, but the smallest UPS you can find might be a solution. Or a better PSU, of course.