RopieeeXL and HQPlayer NAA

Hi, after some extensive googling and a whole lot of luck, I was able to install HQPlayer NAA on my RopieeeXL! And it works!

Since it involved a lot of trial and error and I’m a complete Linux noob, I don’t have step by step instructions to repeat the process, but here are the general steps.

1. ssh into RopieeeXL
  2. create a new user since root cannot “make” packages
  3. add this user to the sudo list
  4. install a package called debtap using pacman. deptap converts .deb packages to something that can be installed on arch linux
    4b) as root, run debtap -u to update debtap data files
  5. download the latest naa .deb package from signalyst with wget
  6. follow the debtap instructions to convert the .deb file
  7. install NAA
  8. use systemd to start NAA on restart

I know step by step instructions would be much more helpful, and if I get another pi 4, I can try to document the steps more carefully, but at this point, I’m hesitant to change anything!

One thing to mention is during the HQPlayer make process, I encountered some errors, but I just plowed through and in the end, I got a file that installed properly and is working (eg, it’s recognized by HQPlayer and plays fine). I’m not 100% sure, but the only different I can tell is the volume appears to be louder than using the Dietpi install on the same Pi 4 and same DAC.

One question is what happens when RopieeeXL updates itself? Will that erase all user changes?

Have fun and enjoy!

1 Like

Hi,

If things go as planned this will land shortly.

Thanks

1 Like

So is NAA the next XL option for installing?

Not that noob it seems anymore

yes, that’s the plan.

2 Likes

Assume we will see this in the beta channel in due course then :slight_smile: not that I need NAA just yet but its another feather in the Ropieee hat so to speak. Defaulted to Off I assume too.

yes and yes :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: