Setup advice for a Linux based Roon system?

Hi

I have just ordered a mini pc, I intend to run headless with Roon Core/Server and a Backup utility. I have purchased a bare bones PC, 16GB of RAM a 250GB SSD and two 3TB HDD. I intend to run a Linux OS, possibly Ubuntu.

Am I correct in thinking I should install the OS and Roon Core / Server / Backup utility on the SSD and music files on the HDD’s? If so, is there a need to partition the SDD to separate the OS from the Program Files?

My objective is optimal performance and stability. As close to run and forget as possible. Please note I am a Linux newbie.

Any advice gratefully received

Darrel

Run the OS, Roon Server and the Roon data on the SSD. Pretty much everything except your music. You don’t need to partition the SSD. I got mine running on Ubuntu Server 16.04 LTS, added a missing dependency and ran the script for Roon Server. All I needed was something like SMB to expose the music files to your network and SSH to allow you on to the computer for admin. It took me a couple of hours first time, 30 minutes thereafter (lots of experimenting).

1 Like

I would also be considering moving on to ROCK once that is launched. Now that 1.3 allows easy back ups you will be able to restore any initial database edits more easily.

Yes, maybe wait a bit for ROCK and see the ROCK requirement for reference

https://community.roonlabs.com/t/roon-optimized-core-kit-previously-reported-as-roon-os/14175/193

Many thanks to all, Especially Henry_McLeod. Unfortunately Hardware is purchased and its not ROCK complaint, from what I have read. Maybe next time round.

As this is my first bite of Linux, I think I am going to try a Desktop OS, not a Server. Do people agree Unbuntu is a good choice for first time Linux experience for a non Techie?