Should I keep running ROCK?

Hi,

I love ROCK, I run it on my NUC, it’s fast to boot and it keeps itself updated, the thing is I have my ROCK in the living room and my DAC is connected to it, I power it on when I want to listen to music.

I have a 24/7 Linux server, I think it might be better to run the Roon Server on here so that it’s on all the time for multi-room, can I deploy ROCK as a VM on my server so it’s on all the time and it keeps itself updated?

And to my NUC endpoint, I’m thinking that I stick with ROCK because it works great with my DAC and it keeps itself updated, thoughts?

So is anyone doing anything similar, ROCK on a server and ROCK on an endpoint?

Thanks.
Richard

Why wouldn’t you just install Roon server on your Linux server? I am no expert, but I think running ROCK on a virtual machine defeats the purpose of ROCK.

3 Likes

If Roon Server can update itself on Linux then cool, I’m not 100% on that.

Maybe I will switch out the NUC for a RoPieee box, the Skull Canyon NUC is overkill for an endpoint.

I think that the optimum way to run Roon is on a device of its own, preferably using ROCK. However the clarification that a Skull Canyon NUC was being used changes that. And it does explain why you needed to switch it off when not in use. Replace the NUC with something more appropriate. Move the core to your server or to the new device if is powerful and quiet enough.