Should I use a Rpi, or should I continue with MacOs

Hello to all. First of all, please bear with me that I’m a big time newbie, I’m lost in tech talks (especially anything Linux related) and I do not understand everything about Roon (the “Core”, the “Remote”, etc.). I am happy to learn, but I have limited time and prefer easy solutions to my problems to heavily-involved ones.

I am on a trial Roon and I am very, very pleased with the interface on my MacBook Pro. However, the Mac is getting old (2011) and I am in the process of changing my computer. I have 2000+ albums (FLAC + mp3) on my hard drive and I have subscribed to Tidal. I own a Cambridge CXN that I really like. I’m low on cash. Subscribing to Roon is kind of a stretch, but I’m ready to plunge if I can make it work nicely.

1. I thought about a configuration that would meet many needs: connect my old MacBook Pro via a Toslink digital cable to my Cambridge CXN, disable the monitor and control the MacBook Pro via a new computer I would buy (probably a MacBook Air). This way I could keep my ole’ Mac always on for sharing files via p2p, sharing files with the new Airmac and listening to my music library and Tidal via Roon with its core in the MacBook Pro (taking advantage of the Cambridge DAC instead of the Mac ones).

2. Another config would invert everything. I could keep my ole MacBook Pro as my main computer. It is still working nice as I’m a light user (sometimes under stress when running Roon, but that is rare). I could buy a Raspberry Pi + DigiOne and install Dietpi or whatever OS. Install a Roon bridge on the Pi. Transfer my library to a USB SSD (that I already own) and I even could install my file sharing client on th Pi. Connect the DigiOne to my CXN via coaxial. That way the Pi would be the “always-on” unit instead of the Mac.

Pros of 1: easy to setup (I understand Macs). No library transfer. No file sharing client library transfer.