Small Endpoint with Roon Raat and Airplay as well

Hi,

I am looking for small Roon endpoint with Raat and Airplay aswell. I want to use my Speakers with Roon Nucleus, and also Airplay from any of Apple Devices. Does anybody have a suggestion?

With thanks

Daniel

1 Like

Build an endpoint using a Raspberry Pi and install RopieeeXL.

3 Likes

Or buy one already built. Who sells these?

1 Like

By increasing MSRP, Allo, Orchard, Metrum.

1 Like

I will try the Orchard. Thanks for hints and ideas.

2 Likes

I have picked up the Orchard PecanPie today, swapped the sd card for an RoPieeeXL Image and I am enjoying my new Roon Endpoint. Thanks for your suggestions and hints !

Happy listening

Daniel

1 Like

Hi,

Sorry to revive this thread, I’ve been searching around because I’m new to Roon, and found this thread very to the point.

I am trying to get Raat into my AVR to overcome Airply limitations. From what I understood, I’m planning to do the following:

• Buy a Raspberry Pi4, 4 Gb, model B, and install Ropieee as suggested above.
  • connect my PC Server (Roon Core) via Ethernet to the Raspberry, then the Raspberry to my Marantz SR8012 via USB (or HDMI?) to get up to 24bit/192kHz into the AVR DAC.

Is the above correct? Am I missing anything? Will there be any sound difference using the options mentioned above ( Allo, Orchard, Metrum )? If so, which differences?

Appreciate any help. Thanks.

If you use RoPieee or RoPieeeXL you can’t use HDMI. USB works well if your receiver can use it. Also, you don’t need 4GB. A 2GB RPi4 is fine. Of course, your PC and RPi4 will be connected to your router or a switch using ethernet. The RPi4 running RoPieee can use WIFI, but ethernet is usually better.

Thanks. Yes, everything will be connected via Ethernet, except the Control Points.

I’m going to double check if the AVR has USB-DAC. If not, how can I connect the Raspberry via HDMI?