Sometimes classical artists and performers are missing from lists

In classical music, when I scroll down from the composition to “All Recordings” usually what I look for is the orchestra and the performer. Here’s an example

Sometimes the artist (in this case a violinist) is listed under “Featuring” but often it is blank and a few clicks are necessary to find the detail.

It would be great if the solo artist (pianist, violinist, etc) could be always listed as is the orchestra and conductor.

A lot of that depends on tge metadata coming from the record label. Some are very poor, I’m not a classical expert but even I noticed a DG album with almost none.

1 Like

Ged is correct. This is “easily” corrected with a tagger app, but I imagine you want to avoid that.

I had dabbled with the MCUtils app but that’s for my local files.

Most of the albums I browse for are on Tidal and Qobuz - so I can’t control their metadata. That said, it is hard to believe they don’t have the featured artist when they have everything else.

Update—I just looked at the Album artist and credits in the meta data for albums missing the solo artists and the information is all there…and the same as for albums that do show it.

So I think the metadata is OK…Maybe a Roon quirk.

This is not a solution as I cannot imagine you would want to do this for your entire library but at least it is some kind of explanation.

It is not enough for the artist to be tagged as “Violin”, you also have to tag the violinist as “Primary Artist” for featured artist to appear in the compositions screen. This also controls whether the artist appears in “Performed by” on the main album screen. You can do this for local or streamed content. This example is for Qobuz.

Before:

After:

1 Like

I tried that and couldn’t get it to work. In my first post screen shot above, they seem to all have the right metadata…and the violin artist listed as the primary artist and the violinist.