SonicTransporter - Roon Core Setup HELP!

Hi All,
I’m new to Roon (LOVE IT) but am NOT a techie. I would like to set up a core off of my iMac and feel overwhelmed with tech info (incomprehensible to me btw). I do not have a NAS but am looking at a Sonic Transporter i5 with 1 TB of storage. My music library is approximately 45,000 tracks. My iMac is vintage (2007) but running 10.11.6 and it only has USB2. Can’t go over $1,000 to come up with set up either. Also have Tidal and Sonos speakers.

Does anyone have experience with Sonic Transporter? Is it easy set up and would it allow me to not have to run my iMac to use Roon?

Thanks so much for any help!
Cara

1 Like

Yes it’s easy to set up. It comes with simple directions that you should be able to follow. If there are an issues there is plenty of help here on this forum.

It runs Roon Server and you need to control it from another device somewhere else on your network. That can be an iPad ( not the older ones) or an andriod tablet or you Mac mini if it has a screen and keyboard. You also use smartphones as your control device but they are a bit small and don’t do everything the other remotes do.

Have a look at this for a general overview of how Roon works.

https://kb.roonlabs.com/Architecture

And this may help as well though it does start to get pretty technical.

I just got myself a sonicTransporter i5, and it was easy to set up. Works great.

No HDD included for me, but I am pointing to my NAS.

I have a Sonic Transporter i5 but I use an external SSD for storage. Setup is super easy and @agillis is there to help if you need it. However 1 TB of storage won’t do it for a library of your size and I’m not sure 2 TB would either. You might have to go with a few external HDDs to stay in budget.

Only thing on this is the sonicT can only mount / read one external USB drive, not multiple.

But I think one internal plus one external USB (the biggest you can find) is fine.

Didn’t know that. Thanks.

1 Like