Sonos and MQA working?!

Hi everyone…am I missing something?

I thought Sonos doesn’t support high res?

Yes Sonos support’s 24 bit audio at 48k and has done since S2 was released.

It doesn’t do MQA second unfolding though, but Roon does the first unfold so that is fine.

2 Likes

Beat me to it

2 Likes

ah…dont know why…but in my mind it’s still Sonos = max CD bitrate and sample rate.
Cool…thanks guys!
I am pretty new to the Roon world :slight_smile:

Welcome to the world of Roon.

When you have Roon doing the first unfold you’ll see this in the signal path.

2 Likes

I would generally say that Sonos is at it’s best at CD quality as I do not think it sounds any better at 24/48 and takes more bandwidth which makes the older devices skip more, especially if you turn off compression.

I have all my device’s limited to 16/44 in Roon device settings

1 Like

And if you have a pair of Fives, you can use an external DAC via the 3.5mm aux on one of them.

Then you may get better SQ and the signal path will look similar to this

1 Like

ah cool. I have an arc, sub and 2 fives setup in my living room as tv setup.
maybe for my other room I will try it out. Thanks for the suggestion :slight_smile:

Nice set up. I’m working towards that once my extension is complete.

How do you find the soundstage on that for music?
I have never liked the music from a soundbar when trying to sit down and enjoy music listening, but films can be amazing.

well…I usually or normally use the setup for my tv. So Dolby, Atmos, that kind of stuff. That one is fine…no cables running through the room, wife appreciates that :slight_smile:

For music it’s ok…it’s more of a casual “something running in the background”. I have set it up to full surround mode when running music, so the fives in the rear are working too. That’s actually not toooo bad.

If I really want to listen to music, I have an ifi pro idsd signature with hd820 attached to my Mac.

Ok thanks that makes more sense (to me at least) :+1: