Squeezebox Touch hardwiring via ethernet question

Novice here. After becoming frustrated by repeated dropouts in my SBT/Roon/Tidal system I decided to activate an unused Apple Airport Extreme as an extender of my home wifi network, and to hardwire the SBT into this extender via ethernet cable. I created a new zone in Roon and Roon recognizes the extender and its new zone. On screen, all looks perfect: When I choose the new zone and play something my Roon screen tells me it’s playing, but I hear nothing.

The technique for hardwiring an SBT, according to the old Logitech forum, requires having everything running through LMS, and naturally I’ve deactivated it in order to use Roon.

I’ve rebooted the SBT a few times.

Roon Core is on a laptop, and when I choose Ethernet on the SBT settings it automatically defaults to my laptop via streaming.

So, can I run Roon/Tidal through a hardwired SBT?

Thanks in advance.

of course you can. You just need to set the SBT up to connect to your network and get an IP address from your DHCP server (which is usually part and parcel of your broadband router).

Thanks for the response…Have just tried that but it seems that the SBT has to run through LMS in order to work. I get message: Cannot connect…make sure LMS is currently running.

And I assume that I get it to connect to my network by “adding another library” and typing in the IP address of my server there?

Again, many thanks.

User the Touch’s screen to navigate to networking, ensure LMS is not running and that Squeezebox support is enabled in Roon then have the Touch connect to the wired network. It should find Roon masquerading as LMS and connect to it.

I was able to do all of that before making my post. That is, Roon recognized my new zone and it appeared that everything was working but I couldn’t hear anything.

Was making a new zone for the hardwired connection necessary?