Static noise from Tidal across platforms and equipment - WEIRD!

Hello, I have been using Roon with Tidal for several months (and Qobuz before that), and in the last week or so I have experienced an odd problem. On many tracks there is a background static crackling noise. Sort of what you would hear from a vinyl record. It occurs:

• when playing through Roon or the native Tidal app
  • when playing from different platforms (e.g., iPad or Win10)
  • when playing to different equipment and speakers
  • whether using Tidal Connect or playing directly on the device’s speakers
  • using different playback qualities
  • using MQA or not
  • only when playing back (not when music is paused)
  • does not occur playing back local files from Roon

I can replicate the problem for certain tracks quite reliably. For example in Arlo Parks, For Violet, in Collapsed in Sunbeams (https://tidal.com/browse/track/159990835) the crackling is immediately audible to me even before the music starts.

Everything would point to a problem in the streaming itself, which I find hard to believe. I am totally puzzled and annoyed, it really affects my listening experience.

Does anybody have an idea of what is going on? And can anybody reproduce the problem?

Thank you in advance.

I assume you do not hear this on playback of your local library.

No. Local files play just fine.

Could anyone please try to play the track by Arlo Parks, For Violet, in Collapsed in Sunbeams (https://tidal.com/browse/track/159990835) and confirm you hear a crackling sound? It is immediately audible to me even before the music starts, and then during the song.

That’s the sound of vinyl I reckon… I can hear it clearly.
There is an instrument available in credits called Turntable Sample. I know because I added it in an album I ripped the other day. There was a credit on the CD package.

Apparently Vinyl is cool among young people.

This is a nice smooth sound