Streamer bridge to asynchronous USB possibilities?

I am relatively new to the whole audiophile streaming thing, so apologies if my terminology is slightly off.

I just upgraded my amp to a NAD D 3045. It has an asynchronous USB input for hires audio. I have been toying with Roon and Plex setups and would like to have a streamer/bridge on my home system that can output into the USB on my new NAD amp.

What are my options?

I know there is much debate about the noise on a raspberry pi 4 usb and whether that can be used as a good bridge. It looks like I might go down that route (and learn how). But what are the other options? I don’t need a DAC, I just need something that picks up the Roon or Chromecast stream and outputs it over usb to my NAD.

Any bridge options you recommend, including raspberry pi 4 setups, would be great. I’ll need cables and heatsync boxes and all sorts of new toys. All advice appreciated.

1 Like

Hi Daniel, welcome on board!

On this topic you will get many conflicting opinions, here is mine.

I am using a Raspberry Pi4 with RoPieee as Roon bridge, and I am very happy with the solution. I have used my DAC both with Toslink (directly connected to my Core device with S/PDIF output) and with USB connected to the RPi, and I can’t detect a difference. I initially thought I liked the Toslink connection better, but after more listening my conclusion now is that both sound the same on my system.

I don’t believe that there is relevant noise on the USB connection of the RPi4, nor do I notice that there is any degradation of the sound. Some people discuss the benefit of using power supplies marketed as low-noise. I use a standard 5V/3.5A power supply from Canakit for the RPi. Another alternative would be the costlier iFi 5V power supply, but this outputs only 2.5A and the recommendation is to use a power supply which can output 3A to the RPi. Still there are folks who use this iFi 5V power supply successfully with the Pi4.