Synology SPK-Package: Development

Hi,
I am currently investigating in creating a SPK package for x64 Synology devices.
As I am new to SPK, I would like to share some info about my progress.

I currently finished a SPK which installs fine on my DS716+. There are a few issues that I still have.
I need a start-stop-status script to launch the client. This script seems to work from the command line. When I start the package from the Package Center it starts too, but The Package Center does find out that it is actually running and states “Stopped” afterwards. I can stop it again from the command line (sudo start-stop-status stop) and it stops.
The status in the shell is also given correctly. I am unsure if this is due to the way I tried to get the RoonServer PID (by “ps” command) which is saved to a pid-file afterwards.

Also I read evand’s post howto redirect the database path to a different location This works and the root partition won’t be filled. The new location is now in a subdirectory of the package (RoonServer/database)
But I don’t know yet howto redirect the Log directory to a different location.

Maybe someone else has some ideas on this. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Have a look at my Arch install howto - you can point the log folders to tmpfs…assuming of course modifying fstab isn’t going to break your nas’ operation.

Hi evan,
I was trying not to touch system files like fstab and to pass the relevant pathes with the start/stop script. For the database this seems already to work (i used sed to insert “export ROON_DATAROOT=…” in the start.sh script).

You could make symbolic links for the log folders pointing to an alternative location.