Thankful for Roon!

Forums like this are most commonly used to vent frustration, for whatever reasons, but I’d like to take a moment and thank the Roon team for, well, ROON!

I’ve been a Roon subscriber for a year-ish; migrated off an old Squeezebox hosted on my gaming PC. As the Squeezbox became harder to use, discovering Roon was a godsend.
My needs are meager compared to many, but Roon WORKS for me.

I don’t have a gigantic library, or a particularly complex music ecosystem. Roon runs on my Win10 PC, streams to various nodes in my home, and just works.
I love listening to music. Less so futzing with metadata. Roon makes it easy to find and connect to my music, then get it playing; the MUSIC makes me happy. For me, I want software that lets me get the music I want playing, then gets out of the way. The fact that I can use Roon to broker my Qobuz and local collections together is wonderful.

I’m a retiree from large-scale tech, and understand the complexity of software like Roon. Frankly, I’m pretty impressed it all works as well as it does.

So, why am I writing here? Few satisfied customers would bother to write, let alone even visit here. I get the weekly forum summary, see some of the discussions, and I want Roon and the community to know that Roon does work for some of us, that it’s appreciated.

My personal concern is fringe bloat; software “features” that are intended to satisfy a few, vocal power-users, but contribute to complexity, database and network traffic, and that most users will never need.

To be clear, I love useful new features and capabilities within a given application, but developers have to avoid the trap of diverting resources to satisfy a vocal few while missing the opportunity to fix bugs or develop features useful to the larger, often less vocal, customer base.

To Roon, I simply say “thank you”. You make it easy for me to enjoy the music I love.

To fellow readers (and this is rare for me, as I don’t tend to linger in forums) consider: