Total novice. Roon says 'stopped' on my NAS, no idea what to do or how

Roon Core Machine QNAP TS-453D

No idea what operating system or anything and don’t know how to find it out. I literally do not know how to use the machine AT ALL except turn it on.

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Sky router. no idea about WIFI, but its connected by ethernet cat 6 cable.

Connected Audio Devices

streams to my pair of Devialet phantom 1’s(or did) which are connected via a magic lan plug in thingy.

Number of Tracks in Library

Haven’t got a clue, but its a very small library

Description of Issue

Roon says stopped. My iMac just says looking for roon core, blah…need to connect it again and don’t know why it would have stopped.

I’ve just looked at a trouble shooting page on Roon…
It asked to check that my iMac and QNAP are both on the same IP address…they are not…how is this possible, they are connected up together and why on earth would it change??? No idea how to change them/sync them or whatever as it doesn’t say how you can do that. Haven’t had access to Roon for weeks now…

They will NOT have the same IP address. They will be on the same network (or subnet, for instance 192.168.0.XXX, the first three set of numbers (192.168.0) are the “network field” that identifies the network the device is on and the last set (XXX) is the “Host Field” that uniquely identifies the device the IP address is assigned to within the network) is what they should have said. Each device needs its own IP for addressing. Another note is that if the IPs are assigned DHCP (dynamically versus statically) they may change over time (like after network or device restart) and might need updating.

The NAS should have a software package for administrating the NAS (QTS, I think for QNAP).
I am not familiar with QNAP but you should be able to get in there and “start” the server.