Turning Off Core Machine

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

Description Of Issue
I am new to Roon and in my trial period. My interest in Roon is using it as a player for Qobuz and not storing or cataloging any collection. My initial finding is that even for this limited use I still have to turn on my core computer if I want to use any other computer in the household to listen to Qobuz.This seems like a waste of electricity and resources, not to mention more availability to hack into my core computer as it must stay on and unattended.

I can see the point of having a core computer to access a personal collection remotely but is there any point to having a core computer on for streaming only as with Qobuz?

Qobuz, like any other streaming service, allows me to download and install its player on as many computers as I want without complication, or having to have a “core” computer. Why not Roon for this limited purpose of streaming?

Am I missing something in my trial of Roon? If not, I would suggest to Roon that the whole idea of having a “core” will be on the verge of obsolescence as more and more people stop digital “collecting” and just stream music.

As such, the streaming function for Roon ought to be available on all of a customer’s computers regardless of turning on a “core.” in my opinion.

The Roon core device must be on to use the Roon core device. Otherwise, just stream Qobuz directly from Qobuz without using Roon. The main purpose of Roon is not simply to stream music from Tidal and Qobuz.

I started using Roon to manage my collection and have now added Qobuz. Yes, you can run Qobuz on other machines, but I find the Roon interface better and continue to use it unless I am accessing Qobuz away from home.