Two questions : Play now on artist does not play local / Tidal tracks always have issues playing

Roon Core Machine

intel nuc - i7, 16gb ram

Networking Gear & Setup Details

wired, 1gb down

Connected Audio Devices

Naim NDX2

Number of Tracks in Library

Description of Issue

Hello, as the titles states i have two main issues. When trying to listen to radiohead i click “play now” on the artist and it plays steaming tracks and not local tracks. To listen to local i have to go into specific albums and pick the library album. local are higher res.

While listening to Radiohead
Tidal seems Very faulty with roon. Seems “tracks are missing or cannot be played” happens often. Regardless of having qobuz (which is higher bit than tidal) or just using local library tracks.

It seems like Roon picks tidal over qobuz or local regardless if the bit rate is lower? I could be doing something very wrong or have settings not set up correctly. If that is true please let me know, i am quite new to roon. thanks!

This is correct behaviour; Play Now plays music from this artist.

Roon doesn’t consider streaming services, bit depth, or sample rate when selecting a track. From time-to-time, both streaming services adjust their catalogue, which results in tracks and releases becoming unavailable.

1, is there is anyone way i can have it play a shuffle of my local radiohead albums?

2, ah ok, kinda weird but if thats how it works. Thanks.

In Settings > Play actions set up the extra option Shuffle for Composers and Artists.

That should do what you want.

Edit. Ahh, not quite - that “library” only, not “local”

There are a few ways. This is what I would do.

• Click Bookmarks and click a previously saved bookmark called My CD Collection, which eliminates streaming services from My Albums view. Then I’d type “Radiohead” in the filter and click on Play now drop-down and select Shuffle.
2 Likes