Unavailable Tidal tracks

Is there a way to identify Tidal albums with missing tracks (marked as unavailable)?

Even better if you chose to play an album with tracks there is unavailable in Tidal it would automatically play your locale versions if present.
e.g. on this album with George Thorogood the track “Who do you love?” is unavailable in Tidal but I have the track in a local version, it could be a really nice feature if the tracks could be combined somehow.

unfortunately, we dont know this information until we go query it.

i’m going to move this over to the feature requests category. the ‘automatically play your local versions’ and the reverse is on the roadmap.

1 Like

Why are tracks or albums unavailable in Tidal? Is this region dependent?

Hope you don’t mind posting in your thread, but I am fairly new to Tidal.

Explanation from Tidal support page:
https://support.tidal.com/hc/en-us/articles/202347382-Greyed-out-or-Unavailable-Content-

Thank you!

Although a bit of an “corporate” answer from Tidal. Strange that they only have 1 track in your case that is not available, you would think they have the rights to the album in total?!

Each track is an individual musical work with a separate copyright, capable of being the subject of different copyright arrangements. The circumstances as to how that might occur are as varied as human experience.

For example, the song “Biko” is unavailable in Tidal on Peter Gabriel (1980). It seems likely that special copyright arrangements may have resulted from Gabriel’s decision to donate all the proceeds of the single versions to the Black Consciousness Movement (See this article for a fascinating history and analysis of the song). I can’t explain why that has affected the streaming of the album version. It could simply be that the rights are separately owned and Tidal hasn’t entered into an agreement with the owner.

Edit: Fixed the link; sorry about that Chief.

1 Like